Death Cab For Cutie

Submitted by on Sep 28, 2015

Death Cab For Cutie

Death Cab for Cutie – American indie rock band that was formed in Bellingham, Washington in 1997. The band’s name was taken from the satirical song performed by The Bonzo Dog Band, British comedy rock artist, album in 1967 & # 171; Gorilla & # 187 ;. The song was also used in a striptease scene in the film The Beatles & # 171; Magical Mystery Tour & # 187;.

Death Cab for Cutie began as a solo project of Ben Gibbard (Ben Gibbard) while he was a guitarist Pinwheel (he also recorded solo as the All-Time Quarterback). As Death Cab for Cutie, Gibbard released a cassette titled You Can Play These Songs With Chords, which he himself and produced. Formally, while band Death Cab for Cutie was just Ben Gibbard, but Chris Walla (Chris Walla) (which has continued to produce all the band’s next album) and Nicholas Harmer (Nicholas Harmer) (who had previously played with Gibbard group Shed, which, after Gibbard care became known as Eureka Farm) also played on the album. He became surprisingly successful, and Gibbard decided to expand the project into a full band with Wally and Harmer, who became official members. He also invited the drummer Nathan Hood (Nathan Good), and the composition of the released the album Something About Airplanes in the summer of 1998. The album received favorable reviews from the independent music scene (indie music), and in 2000 the album was released: We Have the Facts and We’re Voting Yes. Nathan Good for some reason left the band during the recording of We Have the Facts. His drums in The Employment Pages and Company Calls Epilogue were kept, but Gibbard played drums on all other songs. New drummer Michael Schorr (Michael Schorr) first appeared on the album The Forbidden Love EP released in autumn 2000. The next year was released another album, entitled The Photo Album. The limited edition of the album contained three bonus tracks, which were later released separately as a The Stability EP

In 2003 – another change of drummer Jason MakDzherr (Jason McGerr) (who played in Eureka Farm with Harmer) replacing Schorr. MakDzherr played drums on the album Transatlanticism, which was released in October 2003.

Transatlanticism earned critical praise and also became the best selling album of the group with 225,000 copies sold in the first year. Plus, the tracks on this album have appeared on the soundtracks of TV series “The OC”and”Six Feet Under”and the 2005 film”The Wedding Crashers” (“Wedding Crashers” in the Russian box office).

In the spring of 2004, the band recorded a live album, titled The John Byrd EP named for their sound engineer. The album was released on Barsuk in March 2005.

In November 2004, Death Cab for Cutie signed a “long-term global contract”with Atlantic Records, leaving the label Barsuk, where they recorded a long time and lost the title of the group with an independent record label. Gibbard stated on the official website that nothing will change, except that”Instead pictures Badger (this is not a badger, a black labrador label founder Christopher Possentsa (Christopher Possanza) – by WK), holding a 7-inch plate is the letter A on both sides of the upcoming album.” However, in subsequent releases of the picture label Barsuk has not disappeared, but has become a symbol of peace coexist with Atlantic Records.

The first and the second single from the album, the group began Plans Soul Meets Body and Crooked Teeth soootvetstvenno. The full album was released in August 2005. Plans were well received by both critics and fans, and received a nomination for a Grammy Award as the & # 171; Best Alternative Album in 2005 & # 187;.

The group also released a DVD of the tour, named & # 171; Drive Well, Sleep Carefully & # 187; in 2005 (Directed by Justin Mitchell, Produced by Plexifilm).

In early 2006, the band announced the upcoming release of & # 171; Directions & # 187; – & # 171; & # 187 productions ;, eleven short films based on songs from the album Plans, all of them delivered by different people. The video was posted on the band’s website and the DVD went on sale April 11, 2006. iTunes Music Store started selling videos (formatted for iPod) March 28, 2006. Among the directors were Lance Bangs, PR Brown, Ace Norton, Jeffrey Brown, Lightborne, Autumn de Wilde, Rob Schrab, Laurent Briet and Monkmus, and Aaron Stewart-Ahn. MTV2 & # 146; s Subterranean showed the video for an hour, and then hosted a discussion with members of the group.

In May 2008 came the album Narrow Stairs The first single from it was the I Will Possess Your Heart, released in March 2008. The album received positive reviews from critics and fans, in the first week after taking the leading position in the chart “200 Billboard”

The group is also engaged in other projects: Chris Walla recorded solo and Ben Gibbard is one of the participants Postal Service

Death Cab For CutieDeath Cab For Cutie
Death Cab For CutieDeath Cab For Cutie
Death Cab For CutieDeath Cab For Cutie

Leave a Comment